#7 Tartans Race Past #4 Haverford and #6 Johns Hopkins for the Mideast Region Championship

#7 Tartans Race Past #4 Haverford and #6 Johns Hopkins for the Mideast Region Championship

(CENTER VALLEY, Pa.) – The 7th-ranked Carnegie Mellon University men's cross country team were the champions of the 2018 NCAA Mideast Regional Championships hosted by DeSales University this Saturday. Defeating fourth-ranked Haverford College and sixth-ranked Johns Hopkins University, the Tartans finished with six men in the top-35.

"Both teams ran really well today," said head coach Tim Connelly, "They went out with the intent to compete for what they knew they could and finished well because of that expectation." This is the first men's NCAA Regional Championship title in Coach Connelly's four-year career at Carnegie Mellon and third for the program since 2008.

"We knew what we had to do to beat Hopkins and Haverford, and everyone went out there today and did their job," said senior Aadi Mhatre (Bridgewater, N.J., Bridgewater-Raritan) who led the Tartans. "We knew it was going to be tough to beat these highly ranked teams and we did what we had to do. We're looking to improve upon this for nationals." Mhatre placed eighth overall in a time of 26:13.

Second for the Tartans, freshman Michael OBroin (Park Ridge, Ill. / Saint Ignatius College Prep) ran to a tenth-place finish in 26:16. The freshman was also named Mideast Rookie of the Year. Junior Josh Kalapos (Pittsburgh, Pa. / Mt. Lebanon) was third for the Cardinal and Gray finishing eleventh overall in 26:21.

Sophomore Andrew Singh (Marietta, Ga. / Walton), who was fourth for the Tartans, ran to a 19th-place finish in 26:33. Senior William Mitchell (Chatham, N.J. / Chatham) followed the sophomore in 28th overall in a time of 26:44. Sophomore Matt Karee (Elmira, N.Y. / Notre Dame) finished 32nd overall in 26:54. Closing out the team's top seven, sophomore Naveen Pai (Palo Alto, Calif. / Palo Alto) placed 61st overall in 27:33.

As the DIII Mideast Champions, the Tartans have an automatic bid to the NCAA Championships next Saturday. The University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh will host the DIII NCAA Championships in Oshkosh, Wisconsin on November 17th.