UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Men’s Cross Country Team

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Men’s Cross Country Team

(ROCHESTER, N.Y.) – The University Athletic Association (UAA) announced its 30th Anniversary Men's Cross Country Team on Thursday, October 12. Forty-six student-athletes earned the honor with five representing Carnegie Mellon University.

The team consists of each student-athlete who earned individual champion honors or accumulated five or more points in his career, with two points awarded for All-Association first-team recognition, and one point for second-team honors.

Three Tartans won the UAA race beginning with Dave Supp (1986-1989) in 1989. Supp's championship performance marked his only first-team honor, as he was on the second team in 1987 and 1988. Jim Langer (1990-1993) followed with athlete of the year honors in 1993 after earning second-team honors in 1991 and first-team honors in 1992.

The Tartans most recent UAA Champion was George Degen (2011-2014), who won the race in his senior campaign.

Brian Harvey (2005-2008) is the only Tartan to earn first-team recognition three times while Dana Irrer (2002-2005) finished in the top 14 all four years with two top seven placements while being the top UAA rookie in 2002.

Both Harvey and Irrer completed their careers as two-time All-Americans, as Harvey competed in the NCAA Championships four times. Irrer and Supp were both part of three Tartan teams to race at the NCAA Championships.

The Tartans won four UAA Championships in the past 30 years with head coach Gary Meckley leading the team in 1989, head coach Dario Donatelli in 2005, and current head coach Tim Connelly in 2015 and 2016.