Tartans Compete at Westminster Invitational

Tartans Compete at Westminster Invitational

(NEW WILMINGTON, Pa.) – The Carnegie Mellon University women's track and field team traveled to Westminster College to compete at the Westminster Invitational on Saturday. The Tartans competed against both Division II and Division III teams at the invite.

Senior Tessa Allen (Manhattan Beach, Calif. / Bishop Montgomery) placed second in the high jump clearing 1.62 meters. Allen also placed fourth in the triple jump at the invitational with a jump of 10.64 meters. Junior Michelle Karabin (Ruffs Dale, Pa. / Greensburg Central Catholic) placed fourth in the pole vault clearing 3.50 meters.

Senior Alexa Barriero (Middletown, N.J. / Middletown North) placed seventh in the hammer throw with a toss of 37.37 meters. The senior also placed 14th in the javelin, throwing 30.27 meters. Senior Claire Yuan (San Jose, Calif. / Lynbrook) took seventh in the 100-meter dash in a time of 16.26 meters. Junior Joanna Baranowski (Syosset, N.Y. / Syosset) placed fourth in the 100-meter hurdles in a time of 16.26. Baranowski also placed fourth in the 400-meter hurdles in a time of 1:07.

Sophomore Valerie Reiling (Concord, Mass. / Concord Carlisle Regional) placed third in the 400-meter run in a time of 1:00, and also took 13th in the 200-meter in a time of 28.01. In the 800-meter run, freshman Taylor Jacobs (Bozeman, Mont. / The Taf) placed eighth in a time of 2:29. Junior Valerie Collins (Wellesley, Mass. / Wellesley) took third in the 1500-meter in a time of 4:51.

Sophomore Parvathi Meyyappan (Cupertino, Calif. / Monta Vista) took third in the 5,000-meter run in a time of 18:47. Junior Emmalyn Lindsey (Eugene, Ore. / South Eugene) placed third in the 3,000-meter steeplechase in a time of 12:21.

The Carnegie Mellon 4x100-meter relay team of senior Autumn Hair (Blue Bell, Pa. / Wissahickon), Reiling, Yuan and senior Debarati Bhanja (New Albany, Ohio / New Albany) placed second in a time of 49.75.

The Tartans will compete next at the Slippery Rock Last Chance Qualifier hosted by Slippery Rock University on April 18.