No. 9 Women’s Tennis Selected to Host NCAA Opening Rounds

No. 9 Women’s Tennis Selected to Host NCAA Opening Rounds

(INDIANAPOLIS, Ind.) - The Carnegie Mellon University women's tennis team has been selected to compete for the 2018 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championship and will have the honor of hosting the first, second, and third rounds of competition. The appearance in the postseason event will be the 13th in 14 years. The Tartans will host action on Thursday, May 10 through Saturday, May 12 with five teams traveling to Pittsburgh.

The Tartans will be joined in Pittsburgh by Hope College, John Carroll University, Wheaton (Illinois) College, Kenyon College, and Wesleyan (Conn.) University.

Hope (13-8) will face John Carroll (18-6) with Wheaton (16-3) and 22nd-ranked Kenyon (20-2) squaring off on Thursday. Fifth-ranked Wesleyan (12-3) will face the winner of Hope and John Carroll on Friday while the winner of Wheaton and Kenyon will play Carnegie Mellon (19-4) on Friday.

The two Friday winners will play on Saturday for the chance to advance to the NCAA Quarterfinals in Claremont, California.

The Tartans' home tennis venue is located in the center of campus with six playing courts and a video scoreboard. Should play get moved indoors, the tournament will be played at The Club Sport and Health in Monroeville, Pennsylvania.

View the full bracket

Host site with match times and other details