Tartans Win the Ninth Annual Battle of the Obelisk

Tartans Win the Ninth Annual Battle of the Obelisk

(CLEVELAND, Ohio) - The Carnegie Mellon University men's indoor track and field team traveled to Cleveland Ohio on Saturday to compete against Case Western Reserve in the ninth annual Battle of the Obelisk. The men swept three events, two in the field and one on the track, to beat the Spartans 77-59. The women also were victorious winning 70-66 to give Carnegie Mellon the 2017 title of the Obelisk Trophy by a combined score of 147-125.  

Sophomore Reed Farber (Mt. Lebanon, Pa.) cleared a career-best height of 1.93 meters in the high jump to lead the sweep of the event for the Tartans.  Senior Tanguy Dauphin (Port-au-Prince, Haiti/Cardinal Spellman) and junior sophomore Cameron Smith (Darien, Conn.) placed second and third after clearing the bar at 1.90 and 1.75 meters, respectively. Dauphin's height was a career-best.

The Tartans second field sweep came in the triple jump where junior Eloy Fernandez (San Jose, Calif./Lynbrook) led the way with a jump of 12.96 meters. Freshman Fred Dauphin (Brockton, Mass./Cardinal Spellman) leapt 12.93 meters to place second while Farber turned in another career-best mark on the day with a jump of 12.57 meters to place third.  

Senior Don Boyer (Dover Foxcroft, Maine/Foxcroft Academy) recorded a career-best mark in the long jump to win the event. In the pole vault, the Tartans place first and second with junior Tommy Mansfield (Westerville, Ohio/Westerville Central) winning after clearing the bar at 4.28 meters. Senior Kyle Weaver (Tallahassee, Fla./Maclay School) took second with a height of 3.98 meters.

Sophomore Kenny Sladick (Berea, Ohio/Berea-Midpark) took first in the shot put with a mark of 14.46 meters and junior Jacob Schofel (Livingston, N.J./Livingston) placed second with a career-best distance of 14.06 meters.  Schofel also won the the weight throw with a toss of 15.51 meters.

On the track, the Tartans swept the 3,000-meter run with all three runners finishing within .37 seconds of each other. Senior Curtis Watro (Audubon, Pa./Methacton) crossed in 8:58.63 followed by sophomores Jacob Halasowski (Pittsburgh, Pa./Fox Chapel) and Jared Moore (Beaver Dams, N.Y./Corning-Painted Post) in 8:58.90 and 8:59.00.

Sophomore Mark Moody (Ellicott City, Md./River Hill) won the mile run after crossing with a career-best time of 4:24.74.

The distance medley relay team of freshman Josh Kalapos (Pittsburgh, Pa./Mt. Lebanon), sophomore Isaac Mills (Fairfax, Va./Oakton) , senior Owen Norley (Chagrin Falls, Ohio/Kenston)  and sophomore Andrew Harter (Saratoga, Calif.) won in 10:38.25.

The Tartans will next compete at the Denison Bob Shannon Invite on February 4 in Granville, Ohio.