UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Women's Cross Country Team

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Women's Cross Country Team

(ROCHESTER, N.Y.) – The University Athletic Association (UAA) announced its 30th Anniversary Women's Cross Country Team on Thursday, October 12. Forty-eight student-athletes earned the honor with six representing Carnegie Mellon University.

The team consists of each student-athlete who earned individual champion honors or accumulated five or more points in her career, with two points awarded for All-Association first-team recognition, and one point for second-team honors.

Leading the list for Carnegie Mellon is three-time All-American Maureen McGranaghan (1995-1998) who earned first-team All-Association recognition for four consecutive years. McGranaghan led the Tartans to three NCAA appearances and a fourth-place finish her senior season.

Joining McGranaghan on the list is Melissa Baustert (1992-1995), Andrea Byrnes (1996-1999), Carolyn Lowe (1988-1991), Margaret Powers (1995-1998), and Emily Wobb (2009-2012).

Baustert was a three-time All-UAA honoree and twice finished in the top seven at the championship meet. During her senior season, the Tartans made their first team appearance at the NCAA Championships where they finished 11th.

Byrnes earned All-UAA honors four times, with two first-team appearances, and joined McGranaghan on the NCAA team in 1997 and 1998. Lowe was a three-time first-team honoree from 1989 through 1991 while Powers helped the Tartans to back-to-back UAA Championships in 1997 and 1998 after the team also won in 1995. Powers was a three-time first-team honoree and ran to All-America performances at the NCAA Championships twice.

Wobb raced to two second-team honors and two first-team honors and represented the Tartans at the NCAA Championships three times, earning All-America honors as a junior.

See the full list of honorees in the UAA release.