Academic Awards

Churchill Scholarship

In 2016, Jillian Jaycox, a women's cross country and track and field student-athlete, was one of 15 individuals nationwide chosen to receive a 2016 Churchill Scholarship, one of the most prestigious awards for study abroad in the United Kingdom. Jaycox became the 12th CMU student to receive the scholarship, which funds a year of postgraduate study at the University of Cambridge.

Fulbright U.S. Grant

The Fulbright U.S. Student Program provides unparalleled opportunity to teach, study and conduct research in 155 countries worldwide.

The women's cross country and track and field team have had three student-athletes earn the award. Emily Joyce in 2017 and Sara Kelly and Erin Kiekhaefer in 2015.

Goldwater Scholarship

In 2014, Jillian Jaycox '16 received The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship which is designed to attract outstanding students into careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering.  Scholarships are awarded on the basis of merit to students who are sophomores or juniors during the current academic year and who have excellent academic records and demonstrated interest in and potential for careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering.  The scholarship covers eligible expenses for tuition, fees, books, and room and board to a maximum of $7,500 per academic year.  Junior scholarship recipients can expect to receive a maximum of two years of scholarship support.  Senior scholarship recipients are eligible for a maximum of one year of scholarship support.

CoSIDA Academic All-Americans

To be eligible for Academic All-America® consideration, a student-athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve, maintain a cumulative G.P.A. of 3.30 on a scale of 4.00, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standings at his/her current institution and be nominated by his/her sports information director.

Cross country and track and field were part of the At-Large field until 2003-04 when it moved to its own category.

2017-18 Emmalyn Lindsey
2014-15 Erin Kiekhaefer
1998-99 Maureen McGranaghan
1997-98 Maureen McGranaghan
1996-97 Maureen McGranaghan

All-District Honors

2018-19 Michelle Karabin, Emmalyn Lindsey
2017-18 Sarah Cook, Emmalyn Lindsey
2016-17 Sarah Cook, Grace Yee
2014-15 Erin Kiekhaefer
2013-14 Jacqueline Guevel
2012-13 Jacqueline Guevel
1998-99 Maureen McGranaghan
1997-98 Maureen McGranaghan
1996-97 Maureen McGranaghan


USTFCCCA All-Academic Awards

To earn academic recognition each athlete must maintain a cumulative grade point average at or above 3.30 and either compete at an NCAA Indoor or Outdoor Championship or finish the regular season ranked in the national top 35 in an individual event or ranked in the national top 25 in a relay event. In 2017, qualification changed to ranking in top 50 in an individual event and top 35 in a relay event.

For a team to be considered for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Team award, they must have competed and compiled a team score at an NCAA Regional Meet.  The team must also have a minimum 3.10 team cumulative grade point average.




Maureen McGranaghan
Margaret Powers


Margaret Powers




Diane Mattingly


Courtney Baker



Jacqueline Guevel


Jacqueline Guevel
Emily Wobb


Jacqueline Guevel


Erin Kiekhaefer
Sasha Spalding


Sarah Cook


Debarati Bhanja
Sarah Cook
Michelle Karabin
Ariel Tian
Grace Yee



Sarah Cook
Michelle Karabin



Team Academic Award

1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004
2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012
2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018