UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Women’s Basketball Team

UAA Announces 30th Anniversary Women’s Basketball Team

(ROCHESTER, N.Y.) – The University Athletic Association (UAA) announced its 30th Anniversary Women's Basketball Team on Thursday, January 11. Forty-seven student-athletes earned the honor with three representing Carnegie Mellon University.

The team consists of each student-athlete who was named Most Valuable Player or accumulated five or more points in her career, with two points awarded for All-Association first-team recognition, and one point for second-team honors.

The Tartan honorees include Lisa Murphy (2013-2017), Jeanine Megahan (1990-1994), and Michelle Sodini (1999-2003).

Murphy is the only UAA Player of the Year for the Tartans, an honor she received from the Association's coaches in 2016 and 2017. Murphy is also the only Tartan to earn First Team All-Association honors four times. The NCAA record holder for season and career field-goal percentage, Murphy is Carnegie Mellon's all-time leader in scoring (2,306 points), rebounding (1,180), and blocked shots (232).

Megahan led the Tartans to its only UAA Championship in 1991 as a freshman, earning her first of three First Team All-Association selections. Megahan still holds the career records for steals (282) and assists (325), and is the third leading scorer with 1,454 points and is fifth all-time in rebounds with 759.

Sodini was twice named to the All-Association first team and twice earned second-team honors while leading the Tartans to the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Championship in her freshman season. Sodini was a thousand-point scorer for the Tartans, accumulating 1,167 career points. She holds the season record for three-point field-goal percentage at .426 (46-108) in 2000-01 and is third all-time in three-pointers made with 148 and second in assists (305) and steals (275).

The Tartans have played in the NCAA Tournament three times (1989, 1991, 2016) and won the ECAC Tournament in 2000 and 2017 while also appearing in the ECAC Tournament in 2013. Murphy led the Tartans in 2016 when they won their first and second round games and advanced to the Sweet 16.